Competition Young Architects in Africa

CA'ASI - arc en rêve centre d'architecture - Académie d'architecture


Further to the previous editions promoting the New Chinese Architecture in 2010 and Young Arab Architects in 2012, CA’ASI exhibits the laureates and nominees of the Young Architects in Africa competition in Venice, as Collateral Event of the 14th International Architecture Exhibition of la Biennale di Venezia.

The Young Architects in Africa competition and exhibition series aim to highlight African projects creativity, and help a rising generation of young architects achieve worldwide recognition. The exhibition endeavours to emphasize the social, environmental and participative approach displayed in the submitted projects, representative of a new way of thinking the community in Africa.

The exhibition features the three laureates and nine nominees’ projects designated by an international jury among 194 projects submitted by candidates from 26 African countries and residing in Africa but also the United States, Canada, Brazil, Germany, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Tunisia, and China.
A bilingual exhibition catalog (FR/ EN) presents all projects from the YAA competition candidates.

After Venice, the exhibition will be presented at Arc en Rêve in Bordeaux and in the Academy of Architecture in Paris. An African tour is in preparation.

AS.Architecture-Studio has founded the CA’ASI to promote dialogue between architecture, contemporary art, and the public from the Biennale di Venezia. AS.Architecture-Studio defines architecture as « an art which is socially committed and engaged in the construction of mankind’s living environment ». It is based on team work and shared knowledge.

Young Architects in Africa is supported by SETEC TPI, SETEC BÂTIMENT, and ERCO.

Urko Sanchez architects : Red Pepper House (Kenya)

André Christensen & Mieke Droomer : Dordabis Community Spine (Namibie)

Architects of Justice: Seed library (Afrique du Sud)

Practical information
CA’ASI Cannaregio 6024 Campiello Santa Maria Nova 30121 Venezia
5th June 2014 at 3pm : exhibition opening
6th June 2014: preview for press and professionals
7th June - 28st September 2014: exhibition open to the public
Opening times: Wednesday to Sunday from 11am to 6pm, closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.

Press contacts
Vanessa Clairet & Emilia Etcheberry
+33 1 43 45 18 00

Results Unveiled ExhibitionOnline Catalogue